by Supe and The Sandwiches


Supe & the Sandwiches

w/ Mark & Mike, the Garbonzos and the Garth Branson Singers 

“My birthday is Christmas Eve”, explains Michael Supe Granda, Ozark Mountain Daredevils bassist, producer, Nashville songwriter and guiding force behind “Cool, Cool Yule”. “This meant, as a kid, I got a lot of Christmas/birthday presents. Then, as an adult, it meant Christmas morning hangovers. My idea of the holiday is odd. This past year, I turned 60 by writing a batch of Christmas songs. That, along with a couple songs from my band mates – and a couple cool cover tunes - turned into this rockin’ record”. 

Right after New Years, 2011, Supe took his band, the Sandwiches, still exuding holiday cheer, into Nashville’s acclaimed Fry Pharmacy Recording Studio. Here, under the engineering wings of Scott McEwen – and a band that includes veterans Mark Horn (the Derailers) on drums, Jen Gunderman (the Jayhawks) on keyboards and Tom Mason (Last Train Home) on guitar - they cut the twelve tracks on “Cool, Cool Yule”. Saxophonists Tom McGinley (Memphis Horns, Neil Young) and Mike Foster (Steve Wariner, Super T Revue), along with Jimmy Clark on trumpet, were called in to blow out.  

In the same lively vein as the Sandwiches’ past six records, several tracks were set aside, sung by Mark & Mike and the Garbonzos - both side projects of Supe since his days in Springfield, MO. 

Mark & Mike - Mark Horn (banjo) and Supe (mandolin). 

The Garbonzos - Chris Slatinsky (accordion), John Ehlers (washboard and fiddle) and Tim White (guitar, lap steel). 

Alongside Buck Owens’ “Santa Looked a Lot Like Daddy”, Lonzo & Oscar’s “Jangle Bells” and a rousing version of “Auld Lang Syne” (performed by the legendary Garth Branson Singers), Supe’s songs stand side by side by side. His observant, “I’m Gonna Be Santa Clause for Christmas”, his danceable “Cool, Cool Yule” and his autobiographical “Happy Birthday to Me (Night before Christmas)” will swing and stomp the spirit into any holiday party. 

Thrown into the song writing mix are Tom Mason’s “Gift Wrapped Girl” and Tim White’s “If I Could Ride with Santa”. 

“I love Christmas Music and always wanted to make a Christmas record”, Supe notes. “But, I won’t be singing “Silent Night” or “Little Town of Bethlehem”. This is a rock-n-roll party record - with Spike Jones on the box”.

1. I’m Gonna be Santa Clause for Christmas

2. Big, Red Nose 

3. Cool, Cool Yule 

4. Santa Looked a Lot like Daddy 

5. Reindeer Thing 

6. Jangle Bells 

7. Gift Wrapped Girl 

8. If I Could Ride with Santa 

9. Happy Birthday to Me (Night before Christmas) 

10. Merry Christmas Tighten Up 

11. Auld Lang Syne 

Buy the "Cool, Cool Yule" CD now from CD Baby!